The Italian Stallion Salad

IMG_1622 When I was in Italy, I don’t think I ever had a salad. I recall consuming daily doses of gelato, pasta, pizza, and sandwiches from street carts. I definitely don’t regret it. Here in Detroit, the Italian food selection may not be 100% authentic, but I think it is pretty darn good. One of my favorite local pizza joints is Buddy’s Pizza. I always start with an antipasto salad, which is tasty. Taking a page out of Buddy’s book, I’ve created my own Italian-style salad, with ample ingredients and tons of flavor. Serves 2-4, depending on how hungry you are!

Ingredients for the salad:

  • 2 heads of Romaine lettuce, chopped
  • 8 pearl tomatoes, quartered
  • 4 heads of cauliflower, chopped
  • 2-2.5 roasted red peppers, sliced
  • 1/3 red onion, chopped
  • 8-10 green olives with pimentos, sliced
  • 3 pieces of Mozzarella-style string cheese, sliced
  • 10 slices of salami, depending on the size, sliced (mine were pretty small)

Ingredients for the vinaigrette:

  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • fresh black pepper, to taste

IMG_1618IMG_1621

Directions: Place the lettuce in a big bowl and add all toppings. Stir vinaigrette, and pour it over the salad. The salad is flavorful on it’s own if you decide to opt out of making the vinaigrette (I went dressing-less).

*Note: I really liked the reduced sodium salami that I used from Trader Joe’s, one of my favorite grocery stores, with locations in Bloomfield Hills, Royal Oak, Rochester Hills, Grosse Pointe, and Northville. It’s a great place to shop (and the prices are good, too).

2 thoughts on “The Italian Stallion Salad

Leave a Reply

