Chicken Curry in a Hurry!

I love to experimeIMG_1927nt with unique flavors, especially from around the world. Tonight, I was feeling something light, but the last thing I wanted was a bland chicken dish. We’ve all had our fair share of those, right?

I was hoping to make my own Thai curry, but since I didn’t have coconut milk and did not feel like going shopping after a long day, I figured I could make do with what I had. Turns out, I made something quite delicious! My honorary taste tester for this dish gave it a thumbs up.

All you need for this simple, yet flavorful dish is chicken, or any meat/meat substitute you prefer, vegetables, and red curry paste, which you can find at most grocery stores. And no, this dish is actually not spicy (but you can always make it so)! Enjoy!

Serves: 2

Cost: About $7.00 total

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • Vegetables (fresh or frozen) – I just eye-balled the amount that I wanted
  • 1/2 cup quinoa or rice
  • 2 tbsp red curry paste
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp chopped onion (fresh or dried)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 tbsp olive oil or cooking spray

Directions:

1. Season chicken breasts with salt, pepper, onion, and garlic powder, and evenly coat each breast with curry paste.

2. Cook quinoa according to package directions.

2. Add 1 tbsp oil to frying pan. Cook the chicken until browned and cooked through. When done, remove heat and place in a bowl, covered.

3. Add another 1 tbsp oil to pan. Cook vegetables until crisp-tender.

4. Add quinoa to the pan of vegetables and stir. Remove heat, and add about a 1 tsp more curry paste to the veggie and quinoa mix if you desire and stir. Add the chicken back into the mix, and you’re done!

*Food lover’s tip: A little bit of plain yogurt goes great with this dish!

 

2 thoughts on “Chicken Curry in a Hurry!

Leave a Reply

