Southern Comfort in Southfield

IMG_2577

Vegetarian/Pescetarian + Southern food? Doesn’t seem to add up, does it? Well, believe it or not, this equation is possible in metro Detroit. “Southern Nosh” on Northwestern Highway serves up real soul food, like cornbread, fried okra, “drumsticks” and waffles, and gumbo. This place knows how to adjust these meaty favorites and make them just as good, if not better than the real thing, using soy-based substitutes like tofu.

Fried Okra

Fried Okra

The place is small, with simple decor. There’s nothing really to write home about with the interior, but the kitchen is right in front of you, which I always enjoy. My waitress was attentive and nice, answering my menu questions in a friendly manner and serving up the food at a steady pace.

Gumbo

Gumbo

I started with a taste of my dining partner’s hefty bowl of gumbo, which had no meat or seafood whatsoever, but the flavor and meat substitute made up for it! I thought it was over-salted, but other than that, it was filling, hot, and satisfying. For my entree, I had the “Swamp Thang,” which is a specialty dish featuring fried tofu and greens, topped with gumbo.

I have to sadly admit that the tofu was disappointing. The outside was nice and crispy, but the inside could have been cooked longer. I like my tofu golden brown and crispy all the way through, as you can see from my Killer Tofu post! Don’t worry, though – my side of sautéed portobello mushrooms made up for it! Again, a little over-salted, but I can’t ever hate on shrooms.

IMG_2580

Sloppy Joe

I also got tastes of fried okra and the sloppy joe, which is a meatless version of the real thing, with a subtle sweetness. The fried okra was nothing special, but the cornbread that they serve (like a Southern version of a bread basket) before your meal is heavenly. I’d highly recommend dunking it in the gumbo.

You will probably be surprised to walk out with a very full belly (I was pretty stuffed) but if you’re truly not satisfied, walk a few storefronts down to Beans and Cornbread, which is owned by the same couple. Although I love the concept and creativity at Southern Nosh, I’d be up for trying their sister restaurant.

Swamp thang

“Swamp Thang”

While the high saltiness was a bit of a turn off, Southern Nosh is perfect for the curious eater and soul-food lover.

Would you go? Have you already checked it out? Click “leave reply” and let me know!

Price range: Entrees start as low as $9.99 and come with a side

Location: 29540 Northwestern Hwy (Sunset Strip), Southfield, MI 48034

Hours: CLOSED Mon., Tues. – Fri. 11 a.m. – 9 p.m., Sat. – Sun. 2 p.m. – 9 p.m. Open for lunch and dinner, and offer take-out.

Phone: (248) 352- 1682 (No reservations)

View the menu here!

Money-saving tip: Get this Southern Nosh Groupon deal while it’s hot: http://www.groupon.com/browse/detroit?lat=42.3314&lng=-83.0458&query=southern+nosh&address=Detroit%2C+MI&locale=en_US

Leave a Reply

