Simple & Sweet Gnocchi

I’d like to award a gold medal to whoever invented gnocchi. I just can’t resist those soft, delicate pillows of potato and flour. I love that they cook up quickly and are a creative alternative to pasta. While gnocchi is fairly simple to make from scratch, I couldn’t resist picking up a bag of Trader Joe’s sweet potato gnocchi the other day. If you haven’t already figured this out, I am very much “for” Trader Joe’s.

My gnocchi recipe is simple, with additions of crisp vegetables and hearty chicken sausage. The taste and presentation made me feel like I was sitting in a charming Italian restaurant. I also believe that drinking a nice glass of wine alongside the dish helped with the ambiance.

I’d recommend picking up some quality cheese to sprinkle on top of this dish. You have even more of an excuse to be a little heavy-handed with the cheese because no heavy sauces are involved!

So, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and light some candles, pour yourself a drink, sit back, and enjoy.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag/serving of sweet potato gnocchi (I used Trader Joe’s sweet potato gnocchi with butter and sage, which can be found in the frozen section. I chose not to use the entire portion of sage butter, but kept a few pieces in for added flavor)
  • About 2 cups frozen vegetables (I used a mixed bag of cauliflower and broccoli)
  • 2 chicken sausage links, diced
  • Plenty of cheese for sprinkling, like parmigiano-reggiano or a quality Italian-style cheese
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. Cook sweet potato gnocchi according to package directions and set aside when finished cooking.

2. In a pan, heat olive oil and cook vegetables and chicken sausage. When they are close to being fully cooked, add gnocchi and mix thoroughly.

3. Add salt and pepper, and sprinkle a generous portion of cheese on top.

Three easy steps, and you’ve got the perfect Italian meal that you can whip up any night of the week!

Chat with C&K: What is your “go to” weeknight meal? Share with me here, or on FacebookTwitter, or Instagram @coneysandkale!

2 thoughts on “Simple & Sweet Gnocchi

Leave a Reply

