Keeping Up with C&K

Wow! It sure has been awhile. I hate to have taken such an extensive break from blogging, but C&K needed some R&R and refocusing. My restaurant and cooking explorations have far from ended, but I decided I needed a bit of a technology break as well. I even went so far as to take a 8 day trip to Amsterdam and Belgium, where I had more than my fair share of great food, particularly in the chocolate category.

Now that I’m back in action, I’d like to share what I’ve been eating lately, in addition to a peek at some of the eats I had while exploring Europe!

Where I’ve Been Eating Lately…

Noble Fish, Clawson

This place is my sushi go-to. If you haven’t been to Noble Fish, then you need to go ASAP. Don’t walk…run there! While I’m still warming up to sashimi in general, I’m crazy about the sushi rolls and hand rolls at Noble Fish. They’re mostly known for carry-out, but they do have a small seating area. Better yet, Noble Fish also doubles as kick-ass Japanese grocery store. The Michigan Roll and spicy tuna are my faves, but there are so many others I have yet to try.

IMG_3363.jpg

Pop’s for Italian/The Daily Dinette, Ferndale

IMG_4648.JPGThis pair of restaurants are situated side-by-side on the bustling 9 mile strip in downtown Ferndale. The Kramer Restaurant Group, also known for One-Eyed Betty’s and Rosie O’ Grady’s, has come up with a genius combination of home-style Italian and a casual all-day eatery.  I’d recommend heading to Pop’s for a date or fun night out with friends. Make sure to try the Burrata and Prosciutto appetizer! At the Daily Dinette next door, they serve delicious food any time of day, but I prefer to go in the morning hours for their Nitro cold brew coffee and one of their amazing homemade donuts (I am a fan of the Homer Simpson donut, which is in fact, better than the cartoon version).

img_4651

And some amazing food from my Euro-trip…

Clock-wise from top to bottom: Netherland-style pancakes (pannekoek) in Amsterdam, Speculoos cookie flavored hot chocolate in Luxembourg, fresh mussels from Belgium, traditional Belgian-style stoemp (potatoes mashed with vegetables) and breaded fish, Belgian french fries, and AMAZING Belgian chocolate!

 

Leave a Reply

